Make your own free website on


The Evolution of American Federalism

The Design of Federalism
Coercive Federalism
Evolution of Federalism

The Many Sides of Federalism

There have been many different kinds of federalism throughout the years.  One such kind is State-Centered Federalism wich was between the years of 1787 and 1868.  Between the time from the Constitution was made and the Civil War, states were the most important units in the American Federal system.  Dual Federalism lasted between 1868 and 1913.  The supremecy of the National Government was divided on the battlefields of the Civil War.  Then came Cooperative Federalism wich was between 1913 and 1964.  Federalism was changed during this time frame by the Industrial Revolution.  It shifted the financial resources to the National Government.  Next was Central Federalism which was between 1964 and 1980.  The National Government became responsible for virtually all the problems facing the American society.  And last but not least is New Federalism which was between 1980 and 1985.  New Federalism was a phrase used mainly to describe efforts to reverse flow of power to Washington D.C. and to return responsiblilities to states and communites.